Credit: Hartley Lin

Credit: Hartley Lin

Press Release

Here they are: the nominees for the 16th annual Doug Wright Awards!

The Doug Wright Award for best book
This Place: 150 Years Retold
Kateri Akiwenzie-Damm, Sonny Assu, Brandon Mitchell, Rachel and Sean Qitsualik-Tinsley, David A. Robertson, Niigaanwewidam James Sinclair, Jen Storm, Richard Van Camp, Katherena Vermette, Chelsea Vowel, Tara Audibert, Kyle Charles, GMB Chomichuk, Natasha Donovan, Scott A. Ford, Scott B. Henderson, Ryan Howe, Andrew Lodwick, Jen Storm, Donovan Yaciuk, Alicia Elliott
HighWater Press

The Cursed Hermit
Kris Bertin, Alexander Forbes
Conundrum Press

Nina Bunjevac
Fantagraphics Books

Agnes, Murderess
Sarah Leavitt
Freehand Books

Death Threat
Vivek Shraya, Ness Lee
Arsenal Pulp Press

Bradley of Him
Connor Willumsen
Koyama Press

The Nipper: The Doug Wright Award for emerging talent
D. Boyd
Chicken Rising
Conundrum Press

Jason Bradshaw
Things Go Wrong
Paper Rocket

Sylvia Nickerson
Drawn & Quarterly

Ben O’Neil
Popnoir Editions

Cole Pauls
Dakwäkãda Warriors
Conundrum Press

The Pigskin Peters: The Doug Wright Award for best small- or micro-press book
Boumeries, Vol. 9

Freddy Carrasco
Peow Studios

Baby in the Boneyard
Jesse Jacobs
Hollow Press

Curb Angels
Lisa Mendis, Christopher Ducharme, Lucas C. Pauls
At Bay Press

Jay Stephens
Black Eye Books

The Egghead: The Doug Wright Award for best kids’ book
Brick Breaks Free
David Craig

The Worst Book Ever
Elise Gravel
Drawn & Quarterly

Lunch Quest
Chris Kuzma
Koyama Press

Dakwäkãda Warriors
Cole Pauls
Conundrum Press

Alma and the Beast
Esme Shapiro
Tundra Books

Conundrum Press leads in nominations, with four, followed by Drawn & Quarterly and Koyama Press, with two nominations each.

This year, 151 books by Canadian authors and artists were submitted to the Doug Wright Awards, in four categories. Nominees and winners were chosen by a panel of three judges per category. A total of 36 publishers submitted entries, along with nearly three dozen self-published works.

Congratulations to all of this year’s nominees!

Giants of the North: The Canadian Cartoonist Hall of Fame
Last year, we instituted a new tradition of inducting one living and one deceased member of the Canadian comics community annually to the Giants of the North hall of fame. After consulting with this year’s living Giants nominee, we collectively made the decision to push their induction to 2021, when we return to staging a live public ceremony.

This year’s Giants of the North nominee is Walter Ball (1911–1995), the longtime Toronto Star cartoonist and art department supervisor, best known for the strip Rural Route.

The Ceremony
The 2020 Doug Wright Awards will be broadcast online on Saturday, May 9th, at 8 p.m. More info to come!

Our thanks to this year’s judges: Shanda Deziel, Deborah Dundas, Meags Fitzgerald, Jesse Jacobs, Calum Johnston, Alison McCreesh, Serah-Marie McMahon, Noah Van Sciver, Todd Stewart, Philip Street, Maurice Vellekoop, and Kat Verhoeven. You can read more about each of our judges on the Doug Wright Awards Web site.

Thanks as well to this year’s sponsors, the Beguiling/Little island/Page & Panel, Broken Pencil, and Taddle Creek, and our sponsor in absentia, the Toronto Comic Arts Festival (come back soon!).

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

J. SCOTT CAMPBELL Draws Eight CATWOMEN Through Eight Decades in New CATWOMAN 80TH Variants
STEVE GEPPI Makes the Case for DIAMOND as Primary Direct Market Distributor in 2020
Blumhouse’s Upgrade Getting TV Series Sequel
Veteran MARVEL STUDIOS Storyboard Artist JANE WU Wants to Teach You Something
Agents of SHIELD: The Team Gets Ready to “Suit Up” in Tonight’s Long-Awaited Premiere

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *